Camping   Hunting   Fishing   Festivals/Events   Hiking/Rock Climbing   Water Sports/Activities   Winter Sports 
Georgia Outdoors Home

Public Hunting Areas
By Map Location
Complete Listing
Shooting Ranges
Wildlife Management Area Maps

Hunting Regulations
Protected Species
Unlawful Activities
Required Clothing
Legal Hours
Special Deer Regulations
Additional Information

Guide Services
Lodges, Guides by County
Complete Listing
Sporting Clays, Trap & Skeet

Hunting Licenses
General
Replacement Certificate
Honorary Licenses
Resident& Non-Resident
Archery License
Alligator Hunting License
Big Game License
Bird Hunting Licenses
Sportsman License
Reciprocal Agreements
License Fees

Hunting Seasons
Deer Hunting
Alligator Hunting
Feral Hog Hunting
Bear Hunting
Bird Hunting
Migratory Bird Hunting
Small Game Hunting

Hunter Education
Hunter's Safety Course General
Replacement Certificates
Hunters Under Age 12
Hunters Ages 12 - 15
Hunters Ages 16 - 25
Hunters Over Age 25

Firearms & Equipment
Deer, Bear & Firearms
Feral Hog & Firearms
Alligator Equipment
Turkey Firearms
Small Game & Furbearer Firearms
Special Firearm Restrictions
Convicted Felons
Archery

Trapping Regulations
Season and Permissions
Equipment and Trap Requirements
Mandatory Reports
Exportation Requirements
Live Fox
Bobcats and Otters
Alligators

Hunter Education Requirements
General: Residents and non-residents born on or after Jan. 1, 1961 must successfully complete a hunter education course prior to purchasing a season hunting license. However, a hunter education course is not required to purchase a one (1) day or three (3) day Hunting License. Hunter education courses certified or mandated by any state wildlife agency or Canadian province are accepted. Hunter Education is not required to hunt on one’s own land or land of a parent or guardian (blood or dependant relationship) residing in the same household. Contact your local DNR Law Enforcement Office or 770/761-3010 for course information.

Replacement Certificates: Anyone who completed a Georgia hunter education course and needs a replacement Hunter Education Certificate can obtain a replacement card online at www.gohuntgeorgia.com or by calling 800-864-7275 (outside Atlanta) or 770-389-7275 (in Atlanta) between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday for information.

back to menu

Hunters Under Age 16 are not required to complete a hunter education course. However, no one under age 16 may hunt unless under direct adult supervision, i.e. within sight or hearing of a licensed adult hunter at least 18 years old. It is unlawful for an adult to permit their child or ward under age 16 to hunt unsupervised. Exception: Hunters 12-15 years old may hunt unsupervised after successfully completing a hunter education course. Special restrictions apply for Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs) & National Wildlife Refuges (NWRs) for other Federal Areas.

back to menu


Hunters Age 16-25 must present a hunter education certificate when purchasing a season hunting license and must possess the certificate while hunting.

Hunters Over Age 25 and born after Jan. 1, 1961 must meet hunter education course requirements but need not present their hunter education certificate when buying a season hunting license or possess it while hunting.

 
Citizens State Bank

Site Created and Maintained by CompuNet, Inc.