Camping   Hunting   Fishing   Festivals/Events   Hiking/Rock Climbing   Water Sports/Activities   Winter Sports 
Georgia Outdoors Home

Message Board

Fishing Tournaments
Rivers and Streams
Public Fishing Areas
Trout Fishing Regulations
Where to Trout Fish
Size Limits
Catch Limits

Nonboating Piers and Docks
Boat Ramps
Salt Water Demarcation Line
Size Limits
Catch Limits

Lakes and Ponds
By County
By Map Location
Complete Listing

Fishing Licenses
General Information
Public Fishing Area

Lakes and Ponds
Rivers and Streams

Fishing Tournaments
Boat Rentals
Boating Regulations
Handling and Releasing Fish
Agreements With Bordering States
Measuring Fish Length
Fishing Regulations &
Alternate Fishing Methods

Recent Changes to Fishing Regulations


The following changes were adopted by the Board of Natural Resources on August 14, 2002. These changes become effective on October 1, 2002.

Chattooga River: a portion of the Chattooga River in Rabun County from Georgia Highway 28 upstream to the mouth of Reed Creek was added to the Delayed Harvest program by restricting anglers to use of artificial lures and catch and release trout fishing from November 1 through May 14 of each year. Standard statewide trout fishing regulations will apply from May 15 through October 31.

Seasonal streams change to year-round streams:

Bartow County: Toms Creek watershed upstream of Bartow Co. Road 82

Chattooga County: Allgood Branch watershed; Chappel Creek watershed; Chelsea Creek watershed; East Fork Little River watershed; Hinton Creek watershed; Perennial Spring watershed; Raccoon Creek watershed upstream from Georgia Highway 48; and Ruff Creek watershed

Floyd County: Kings Creek watershed; Lavender Creek watershed upstream from Floyd Co. Road 893; and Mt. Hope Creek watershed

Gordon County: Rocky Creek watershed upstream from Gordon Co. Road 210 and Snake Creek watershed

Habersham County: Middle Fork Broad River watershed

Haralson County: Flatwood Creek watershed; Lassetter Creek watershed; and Mann Creek watershed upstream from Haralson Co. Road 162

Lumpkin County: Chestatee River upstream from the mouth of Tesnatee Creek; Etowah River from Castleberry Bridge upstream to Hightower Church Road (County Road 72); and Frogtown Creek watershed

Paulding County: Possum Creek watershed upstream from Paulding Co. Road 64 and Powder Creek (Powder Springs Creek) watershed

Rabun County: Moccasin Creek downstream of the Burton Hatchery water intake to the sign marking the approximate normal pool level of Lake Burton and Warwoman Creek

Stephens County: Middle Fork Broad River watershed upstream from NRCS flood control structure No. 44

Towns County: Hiawassee River downstream to Towns Co. Road 87

Walker County: Allen Creek watershed; Dougherty Creek watershed; Dry Creek watershed (tributary to East Armuchee Creek); East Fork Little River watershed which flows into Dade County; East Fork Little River watershed which flows into Chattooga County; Gilreath Creek; Harrisburg Creek watershed upstream from Dougherty Creek; Left Fork Coulter Branch watershed; and West Fork Chickamauga Creek watershed upstream from Walker Co. Road 107

Whitfield County: Swamp Creek watershed upstream from Whitfield Co. Road 9

West Point Largemouth Bass: the minimum length limit for largemouth bass will change to 14 inches.

Bear Creek Water Supply Reservoir in Jackson County: the largemouth bass length limit for Bear Creek Water Supply Reservoir in Jackson County will have a protected slot limit for 16 to 22 inch fish. Largemouth bass within this length range must be released immediately. This lake is not yet open to the public for fishing. It is under development by the Upper Oconee Basin Water Authority (Barrow, Clarke, Jackson, and Oconee counties), which will determine the opening date for fishing.

Citizens State Bank

Site Created and Maintained by CompuNet, Inc.